La Destination Gastronomique logo

RESTAURANTS

La Grenouillère Photo: Michael Bennett
La Grenouillère: Photo: Michael Bennett

These are the personal choices (in alphabetical order) of the team at La Destination Gastronomique - all distances in MINUTES are by foot from Place Darnétal….

Anecdote A 2015 opening from Chef Alexander Gauthier which reminds us why the world raved about French cooking in the early 1980’s, with recipes from his Michelin-starred father Roland, brought to you in a contemporary setting. For a fabulous culinary trip down memory lane.
€€€€
1 r. des Juifs, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-86-65-80
5 MINS

Le Bistronome Chef Francois likes adding the Asian touch to classic bistro food But for our money, this is where you’ll sink your teeth into the best steak in Montreuil
€€€
26 r. d'Hérambault, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-04-23
4 MINS
Le Caveau A warm welcome awaits from the jovial patron Francois with over 50 varieties of personally chosen wine by the glass. He’s a wine buff so enjoy! Perfect for an aperitif or two on his terrace, try nibbling away at his famous flammeküeche if the kitchen is open.
€€
40 Place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-05-21
5 MINS

Le Chateau de Montreuil This is classic Michelin-starred food in a traditional setting, with a beautiful garden in summer. Christian Germain knows his compresses from his soufflés and cooks to mouth-watering perfection. The ideal setting for a special occasion.
€€€€€
4 chaussée des Capucins, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-81-53-04
4 MINS

Le Clos We love lunch or early evening drinks on this neighbouring terrace, watching the world go by. Many British visitors turn their noses up at offal however this is the best place to indulge a well-thought-out menu. Can’t face it? Go for the Turbot, and say La Destination Gastronomique recommended you!
€€€
46/48 place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-08-85
5 MINS

Le Darnetal Step back in time and enjoy an ambiance which has remained unchanged for over 30 years. A local chef who’s adept at superb home cooking.
€€
1 Place de la Poissonnerie, 62170 Montreuil
03-21-06-04-87
3 MINS

Le Douglas If you are in need of a thirst-quenching beer and nothing else will do. This little cafe has a stunning selection of over 50 beers as well as a couple of reasonable wines. Regular live music adds to a friendly ambiance, or simply park yourselves on the terrace and watch the town stroll by. Open late!
€€
23 Place du Général de Gaulle 62170 Montreuil
03-21-05-50-34
5 MINS

Froggy’s Was Alexander Gauthier's second opening. A relaxed, candle-lit, convivial space in the centre of town with communal tables, lively conversation and a menu of spit-roasted meats.
€€€
51 Bis Place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
03-21-86-72-32
5 MINS

La Grenouillère A 15-minute stroll down to the ancient village of La Madeliane brings you to this award-winning restaurant. In 2016, Alexander Gautier was recognised as the best chef in France by the prestigious Gault et Millau Guide, so this is cooking to get you excited. A celebration, a birthday or any special occasion, really any excuse. Do feel free to ask us as we rarely have the wherewithal to afford it!
€€€€€
19 r. de la Grenouillère, 62170 La Madelaine-sous-Montreuil
03-21-06-07-22
15 MINS

Le Patio Anne and Olivier preside over this little gem with a lovely walled garden at the back. Sadly they no longer open for lunch apart from Sunday and we don’t want to say too much as we might lose our weekly table!
€€
17 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
03-21-05-88-88
4 MINS
Le Clan Des Elfes Nestled in the Rue de Clape en Bas, this is an authentic creperie, not some multi-national franchise. Low ceilings, proper fireplaces and, in the summer, great musical entertainment in the street outside at weekends.
€€
3 Rue du Clape en Bas, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
06-83-71-16-66
4 MINS

Salon Rodiere Just opposite Maison76 ‘Chef-patisseur’ Mathieu serves up wonderful delicious buttery croissants and continues to provide for the hungry mouths of Montreuil throughout the day. Wonderful burgers and salads from lunchtime onwards and a mouth-watering selection of cakes throughout the day. Yummm
€€
81 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
06-82-13-08-52
30 SECS

Auberge du Vieux Logis We have on occasion spent rather too much time debating whether Maigret, Bruno Cremer or Michael Gambon would feel most at home in this quaint little restaurant in La Madelelaine. Called to investigate some scandalous crime in the locale, we felt the inspector would soon be distracted between by the casoulet, rognons, or, for our money, the best-cooked sole meunière in the area.
€€
7 Route de Montreuil, 62170 La Madelaine-sous-Montreuil
03-21-06-10-92
A gentle 15-minute stroll down from the citadel. Allow 20 for the return.

Piccolino It's rare to find such quality pizzas (including vegetarian options) outside of Italy in a family-friendly restaurant. Try their organic Italian wines, they won't disappoint. Friendly service. Open late.
€€
8 Rue des Cordonniers 62170 Montreuil
03-21-05-83-74
4 Mins

Les Remparts If you want to know where the locals go for a well-thought-out menu, then the look no further than Les Remparts. Cheffe Camille gives a modern twist to regional dishes. Excellent value prix fixe menu at lunch with tables that spill out on to a sun-drenched terrace in warmer months.
€€
5 Porte de France (next to la grand place ) 62170 Montreuil
03-21-06-01-89
7 Mins


Château de Montreuil Photo: Christine Lignier
Château de Montreuil

by Tim Matthews
Updated 20 Dec 2017
Almost everybody on this list does a excellent value lunchtime menu during the week, and as we are looking after you in the evenings, this is where we can normally be found between 12.30-14.30.
Please double-check opening times as they vary between proprietors.
Key:

Restaurants included in
ViaMichelin 2017
A Gastronomique History
What they say about Montreuil
La Destination Gastronomique page Facebook
on Facebook
The interview with Alexandre Gauthier
Contact us
Although every effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no responsibility is accepted for any errors in content.

La Destination Gastronomique logo

RESTAURANTS

La Grenouillère Photo: Michael Bennett
La Grenouillère: Photo: Michael Bennett

Toutes les adresses sélectionnées sont des choix personnels (classés par ordre alphabétique) de l'équipe de La Destination Gastronomique. Les distances sont exprimées en minutes à pieds depuis la Place Verte.….

Anecdote La nouvelle table du chef étoilé Alexandre Gauthier nous rappelle pourquoi le monde entier a craqué pour la cuisine française au début des années 80! Au menu: les recettes de son père, Roland Gauthier, revisitées dans un cadre contemporain. Pour un fabuleux voyage culinaire à travers le temps.
€€€€
1 r. des Juifs, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-86-65-80
5 MINS

Le Bistronome Le chef François aime relever la cuisine de bistrot traditionnelle d’une pointe de saveurs asiatiques. Pour un prix raisonnable, vous planterez vos dents dans le meilleur steak de Montreuil…
€€€
26 r. d'Hérambault, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-04-23
4 MINS

Le Caveau François, le sympathique patron de cette brasserie / bar à vins, vous réserve un accueil chaleureux ! Avec plus de 50 variétés de vins sélectionnés par ses soins, l’endroit est tout indiqué pour les amateurs de bons vins. L’endroit idéal pour savourer un apéritif en terrasse. N’hésitez pas à déguster la célèbre flammekueche, si la cuisine est ouverte.
€€
40 Place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-05-21
5 MINS

Le Château de Montreuil Un étoilé Michelin dans la plus pure tradition culinaire française, installé dans un cadre classique. On aime : le jardin, magnifique en été. Christian Germain connaît ses classiques en matière de soufflés et régale vos papilles à la perfection. Une adresse à réserver aux grandes occasions.
€€€€€
4 chaussée des Capucins, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-81-53-04
4 MINS

Le Clos Des Capucins On aime savourer un bon déjeuner ou un apéritif en terrasse, en regardant passer les gens. Beaucoup de visiteurs anglais font la grimace devant les abats, néanmoins le Clos reste une excellente adresse pour profiter d’un menu bien pensé. Vous ne voulez vraiment pas essayer ? Alors demandez le turbot, sur les recommandations de La Destination gastronomique!
€€€
46/48 place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer
03-21-06-08-85
5 MINS

Le Darnetal Remontez le temps et profitez d’une ambiance restée inchangée depuis presque 30 ans. Le chef vous régale d’une délicieuse cuisine maison.
€€
1 Place de la Poissonnerie, 62170 Montreuil
03-21-06-04-87
3 MINS

Le Douglas Vous avez envie d’une bonne bière, et rien d’autre ? Ce petit café offre une sélection de près de 50 bières et quelques excellents vins. Un peu de bonne musique ajoute à la convivialité du lieu, à moins que vous ne préfériez vous poser en terrasse et profiter du spectacle de la ville. Ouverture tardive!
€€
23 Place du Général de Gaulle 62170 Montreuil
03-21-05-50-34
5 MINS

Froggy’s Le second restaurant d’Alexandre Gauthier offre une ambiance relaxante et conviviale. A la lumière des chandelles, vous savourerez un menu de viande rôtie sur des tables communes propices à la rencontre et aux conversations.
€€€
51 Bis Place du Général de Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
03-21-86-72-32
5 MINS

La Grenouillère Un chemin de terre descendant vers le village de La Madelaine vous conduit à ce restaurant étoilé. Alexandre Gauthier, le maître des lieux, a été élu Cuisinier de l’année 2016 par le Gault et Millau, et le trentenaire le plus influent dans la gastronomie en France, on réservera donc cette adresse aux occasions spéciales! Profitez-en pour nous inviter: ce n’est pas tous les jours que notre équipe a le plaisir de manger là-bas ! ;-)
€€€€€
19 r. de la Grenouillère, 62170 La Madelaine-sous-Montreuil
03-21-06-07-22
15 MINS

Le Patio Anne et Olivier sont les heureux propriétaires de ce petit bijou, et de son charmant jardin intérieur. Ils n’ouvrent que pour le dîner malheureusement, à part le dimanche… et nous ne vous en dirons pas plus, au risque de perdre notre table hebdomadaire !
€€
17 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
03-21-05-88-88
4 MINS

Le Clan Des Elfes Nichée dans la rue de Clape en Bas, c'est une authentique crêperie, pas une franchise multi nationale. Plafonds bas, cheminées appropriées et en été une grande animation musicale à l'extérieur le week-end.
€€
3 Rue du Clape en Bas, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
06-83-71-16-66
4 MINS

Salon Rodiere Dans son salon de thé situé juste en face de la Place Verte, Matthieu, le chef-pâtissier, prépare d’excellents croissants au beurre et autres délices qui vous mettront l’eau à la bouche. Pour le déjeuner, laissez-vous tenter par les merveilleux burgers et salades, et une sélection de pâtisseries fines à tomber par terre, à déguster tout au long de la journée. Miam!
€€
81 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-Sur-Mer
06-82-13-08-52
30 SECS

Auberge du Vieux Logis A l’occasion nous avons dépensé plus de temps à débattre lesquels d’entre Maigret, Bruno Cremer ou Michael Gambon se sentirait le plus à la maison dans ce petit restaurant pittoresque de la Madeleine sous Montreuil. Appelés pour investigation sur quelques scandaleux crimes locaux, nous avons senti que bientôt l’inspecteur serait distrait par le cassoulet, les rognons ou un peu onéreusement pour la meilleure sole Meunière de la région.
€€
7 Route de Montreuil, 62170 La Madelaine-sous-Montreuil
03-21-06-10-92
Une promenade à pied de 15mn de la citadelle et 20 mn pour le retour.

Piccolino Il est rare de trouver de telles pizzas de qualité (y compris des options végétariennes) en dehors de l'Italie dans un restaurant familial. Essayez les vins italiens biologiques qui ne vous décevront pas. Service amical. Ouvert tard.
€€
8 Rue des Cordonniers 62170 Montreuil
03-21-05-83-74
4 Mins

Les Remparts Si vous voulez savoir où les habitants vont pour un menu bien pensé, alors ne cherchez pas plus loin que Les Remparts. Cheffe Camille donne une touche moderne aux plats régionaux. Menu à prix fixe d'excellente valeur au déjeuner avec des tables qui débordent sur la terrace ensoleillée..
€€
5 Porte de France (à cote de la grand place ) 62170 Montreuil
03-21-06-01-89
7 Mins


Château de Montreuil Photo: Christine Lignier
Château de Montreuil

par Tim Matthews
actualisé 20 Dec 2017
Quasiment tous les établissements de cette liste proposent d’excellentes formules pour le déjeuner, vous y croiserez donc régulièrement les membres de notre équipe entre 12h30 et 14h30 !
N’hésitez pas à vous renseigner sur les horaires d’ouverture, variables selon les propriétaires.
Clé:

Restaurants inclus dans :
ViaMichelin 2017
Une Histoire Gastronomique
La Destination Gastronomique page Facebook
on Facebook
L'Interview avec Alexandre Gauthier
Contactez-nous
Bien que tous les efforts aient été faits pour maintenir la précision des informations fournies, aucune responsabilité ne sera acceptée pour les erreurs de contenu.